Half-Life 2 in one sitting

Saturday I had the privilege to join 1,800 other people from around the world play in playing video games for 24 hours. We did this to raise over $140,000 to help fight pediatric cancer in an event called Extra Life. It was an amazing experience. I played a smorgasbord of different games including Batman: Arkham Asylum, Left 4 Dead, Company of Heroes, and even some Peggle.

The bulk of my time and the highlight of my gaming marathon was playing Half-Life 2 in one continuous stretch. It took me about 14 hours and I soaked up every minute of it. After that experience I respond to the name Gordon as much as I would to my own name. I fell asleep dreaming about head crabs. Alex is my best friend. I fully understand why this game is so popular. It sucks you in. It is truly a first person experience.

I don’t generally like first person games because I enjoy watching my character in a cinematic way. I mean if you could drop 20 armed guys with a magnum wouldn’t you want to watch yourself do it? Half-Life 2 allows to become Gordon Freeman and makes other FPS titles allow you to be a camera attached to a gun. And that’s all I have to say about that right now.

Keep gaming people!

Leave a Reply

