Mass Effect 2: Part 1

The tide of news has passed over Mass Effect 2. I’ve had a chance to play the game fully and I want to toss out my opinion before watching the buzz head out to sea for good.

Mass Effect 2 is fatter and slimmer than its predecessor. Wait, what? You heard me. It’s better and worse at the same time.

The story is well told, with a good beginning and middle section. I was a little disappointed with the ending. Characters were well-developed and were believable. The loyalty quests are a nice addition to the game. The first game felt more epic, but ME2 was still a really good tale.

The combat felt more like an FPS and uses a ridiculous cover system. Everywhere you fight there are boxes conveniently scattered around making it feel like a game and less like a world that could actually exist. It pulls me out of the experience every time. I like the precision of ME2, but I prefer the overall feeling of the combat in ME2.

I’ll continue my review tomorrow.

Keep on gaming people!

Leave a Reply

